BDSSA Indoor Hockey Champions

Superb performances in the BDSSA Indoor Hockey Championship

On Monday, the Year 9 A and B hockey teams played in the BDSSA    Indoor Championship  held at Westholme school.

The B team were unlucky to draw Westholme’s A team in the first game and in one of the best games of the night,   played some good hockey but lost 6-0.

They then played DACA’s   B team and in a very close and exciting game which they won 1-0. Next up was   DACA’s A team and there were some brilliant periods of play with Jessica Smith making some great saves in goal.   At the final whistle   the score was 3-2 to DACA.   The last match was against Darwen Vale A team who had some big players, however they were no match for our skill and accuracy and the girls won this game 2-1.

The Westholme A team played our B team in the first match of the tournament and won 6-0. They then played Darwen Vale’s A team which they also won 6-0 – 2 great scores as the matches were only 5 mins each way!

Against DACA’s A team, Westholme had shot after shot on goal but the clock was against us and they managed to soak up all our attack and hold out for a 0-0 draw.

Our final match was against DACA’s B team and the girls knew that they had to win convincingly as the tournament would probably go down to goal difference. They went out eagerly and in one 5 minute match managed a tremendous score beating DACA B’s by 5 goals to 0

The overall results were added up and Westholme B team finished in 3rd place and Westholme A team won convincingly on goals. Well done to both teams on such wonderful performances.

A Team: Chloe Hegg (C), Jade Fielden, Maddie Laing, Rebecca Lloyd, Mollie Nelligan & Rebecca Souter.