Year 7 BDSSA Netball Champions

Westholme’s Year 7 A & B Teams are Netball Champions!

The Year 7 Blackburn with Darwen Netball Tournament was held at the end of the Spring term at Witton Park Astroturf.  It was a freezing cold, wet and windy night!

There was an A and a B Team competition.  Five schools entered the B competition and Westholme’s team played well to win all their matches and so won this competition.

Congratulations to: Annabel Steele, Jasmine Welch, Lucie Lamoury, Beth Hothersall, Maddie Ainsworth, Grace Daley and Salonee Shah. 

Eight schools entered the A competition and Westholme’s Year 7A team played very well until their last match, where the girls struggled to cope with the severe weather conditions.  Their results were as follows:

V Witton Park – won 12:0

V DACA – won 8:0

V Our Lady & St John’s – won 9:0

V St Wilfrid’s – won 4:3

V Darwen Vale – won 6:1

V QEGS – lost 0:2

With these results the A team were joint top with 18 points but as Westholme had a better goal difference they were winners of the competition. 

Well done to the team:  Sophie Lamb (Captain), Claudia Keogh, Natasha Mols, Alice Taylor, Grace Collum, Jessica Rice, Emily Winter and Alicia Stebbings.