English Schools’ Fell Running Championships

Westholme’s Fell Runners compete at Sedbergh in the English Schools Championships.

Congratulations to all the fell runners who represented Westholme in the annual English Schools’ Fell Running Championships at Sedbergh School, Cumbria.

The Year 7 team: finished in fourth position. 

Team:  Grace Taylor, Sally Ralphson, Elspeth Russell-Shoker and Maddie Laing


The Year 8/9 team: were Champions. 

Team:  Flora Robson, Maddie Ainsworth, Jade Connelly, Emma Dean, Lucy Davis, Hannah Dobrashian and Lottie Latham-Taylor.


The Year 10/11 team put up an excellent fight, finishing in 2nd place – only one point behind the winners. 

Team:  Katie Buckley, Megan Davis, Sophie Taylor, Rhiannon Hammill, Emily Thornhill and Millie Ainsworth


Westholme’s Sixth Form team deserve a special mention as out of the five runners, only Beckie Taylor is a fell/cross-country runner.  The other girls were persuaded that Westholme needed a team in this age group to stand a chance of the winning the overall trophy.  So, in true Westholme style, Emma Watts, Kellsey Millar, Leena Najia and Harriet Jones put their school first and put their bodies through torture as they ascended and descended Winder Fell, reaching a height of 1,350 feet.  Westholme finished in second place.

Team:  Beckie Taylor, Emma Watts, Kellsey Millar, Leena Najia and Harriet Jones.


Mrs Whittaker was very proud of each and every Westholme runner!